The annually sold-out YAGP Galas have been thrilling NYC audiences for many years, and have become synonymous with the discovery of new dancers, choreographers, and companies. The unique format of the Gala, featuring the performances of international ballet stars and introducing the world’s brightest young dance talent quickly became an audience favorite and, according to Clive Barnes of the New York Post, “the highlight of the New York ballet season.” Each piece will feature YAGP alumni, who currently perform with over 50 international ballet companies. Don’t miss this unique chance to see the best young dancers from around the globe and the world’s top professional dance artists in one spectacular Gala evening!

The YAGP 10th Anniversary Gala will feature the finalists of the YAGP international student ballet competition alongside the all-YAGP-alumni star cast.



Irina Dvorovenko (American Ballet Theatre)
Sarah Lane (American Ballet Theatre)
Joseph Phillips (American Ballet Theatre)
Hee Seo (American Ballet Theatre)
Cory Stearns (American Ballet Theatre)
Matthew Golding (Corella Ballet)
Marcelo Gomes (American Ballet Theatre)
Melanie Hamrick (American Ballet Theatre)
Christine Shevchenko (American Ballet Theatre)
Katherine Williams (American Ballet Theatre)
Skylar Brandt (American Ballet Theatre JKO School)
Vladimir Malakhov (Berlin State Opera Ballet)
Kiril Kulish (Billy Elliot: The Musical)
Karine Plantadit (Broadway star)
Gleidson Soares Vasconcelos (Cuban Classical Ballet of Miami)
Hiroko Asami (Dresden State Opera Ballet)
Raphael Coumes-Marquet (Dresden State Opera Ballet)
Maia Makhateli (Dutch National Ballet)
Yekaterina Kondaurova (Mariinsky Ballet)
Vladimir Shklyarov (Mariinsky Ballet)
Natalia Tapia (Corella Ballet)
Viktoria Tereshkina (Mariinsky Ballet)
Bridgett Zehr (National Ballet of Canada)
Zdenek Konvalina (National Ballet of Canada)
Jared Angle (New York City Ballet)
Zachary Catazaro (New York City Ballet)
Maria Kowroski (New York City Ballet)
Philip Neal (New York City Ballet)
James Moore (Pacific Northwest Ballet)
Charles Andersen (Royal Danish Ballet)
Eliabe D’Abadia (Royal Danish Ballet)
Angelina Zuccarini (Stuttgart Ballet)
Danny Tidwell


  WEDNESDAY, APRIL 22, 2009 AT 7:00PM  
  The Winners of Youth America Grand Prix 2009 International Student Ballet Competition  
  Entries will be announced during the performance  
  Variation from “Paquita”   Aran Bell, 10  
  Choreography: Marius Petipa   (Centro Regionale Danza Lyceum Di Napoli, ITALY)  
      Hope Award Winner  
  “Jota Aragonesa”   Formento Artistico Cordobes (MEXICO)  
  Choreography: Adria Luz Velazquez   Bronze Medal, Ensemble Division  
  Variation from “Harlequinade”   Kurumi Shibadaira, 12  
  Choreography: Marius Petipa   (Emi Aiba Ballet Studio, JAPAN)  
      Silver Medal, Junior Women’s Division  
  “Porte que Sinto”   Marcelino Sambe, 14  
  Choreography: Catarina Moreira   (National Conservatory Dance School, PORTUGAL)  
      Gold Medal, Junior Men’s Division  
  “Pisces”   Zhao Wan Ting, 16  
  Choreography: Wang Jian   (Beijing Dance Academy, P. R. of CHINA)  
      Outstanding Artistry Award  
  Variation from “Coppelia”   Esteban Hernandez, 14  
  Choreography: Arthur Saint-Leon   (The Rock School for Dance Education, PA, USA)  
      Youth Grand Prix Award  
  “La Fille”   Sareen Tchekmedyian, 15  
  Choreography: Viktor Plotnikov – Outstanding   (Southland Ballet Academy, CA, USA)  
  Choreographer Award      
  Variation from “La Bayadere”   Rafaelle Queiroz Rodrigues, 18  
  Choreography: Marius Petipa   (Akademie des Tanzes, GERMANY)  
      Sarah Chapin Langham Award  
  “Uninvited”   Young Gyu Choi, 18  
  Choreography: An Nam Geun   (Korea National University of Arts, KOREA)  
      Gold Medal, Senior Men’s Division  
  Variation from “La Esmeralda”   Elisa Badenes Vazquez, 17  
  Choreography: Marius Petipa   (The Royal Ballet School, UNITED KINGDOM)  
      Gold Medal, Senior Women’s Division  
  Variation from “La Bayadere”   Jeffrey Cirio, 17  
  Choreography: Marius Petipa   (Orlando Ballet School, Fl, USA)  
      Grand Prix Award  
  “Little Red Riding Hood”   Skylar Brandt (ABT JKO School)  
  Choreography: Viktor Kabaniaev   Gleidson Soares Vasconcelos  
  Music: Pytor Ilyich Tchaikovsky   (Cuban Classical Ballet of Miami)  
  “The Jockey Dance”   Charles Andersen – NY Debut,  
  Choreography: August Bournonville   Eliabe D’Abadia – NY Debut  
  Music: Carl Christian Moller   (Royal Danish Ballet)  
  “Reverence”   Hiroko Asami – NY Debut,  
  Choreography: David Dawson   Raphael Coumes-Marquet  
  Music: Max Richter   (Dresden State Opera Ballet)  
  “Mopey”   James Moore  
  Choreography: Marco Goecke   (Pacific Northwest Ballet) – NY DEBUT  
  Music: Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach      
  “The Prokofiev Pas de Deux”   Bridgett Zehr  
  Choreography: Chris Wheeldon   Zdenek Konvalina (National Ballet of Canada)  
  Music: Sergei Prokofiev      
  Commissioned by Sadler’s Wells Theatre, London, 2007      
  “Flames of Paris” Pas de Deux   Natalia Tapia,  
  Choreography: Vasily Vainonen   Matthew Golding  
  Music: Boris Asafiev   (Corella Ballet) – NY COMPANY DEBUT  
  “Grand Defile”   The YAGP 2009 Finalists  
  Choreography: Carlos Dos Santos Jr.      
  Music: Stephen Gunzenhauser      
  “Le Grand Pas de Quatre”   Melanie Hamrick,  
  Choreography: Jules Perrot   Christine Schevchenko,  
  Music: Cesare Pugni   Mary Thomas,  
      Katherine Williams (American BalletTheatre)  
  Lucile Grahn   Angelina Zuccarini (Stuttgart Ballet)  
  Carlotta Grisi   Maia Makhateli (Dutch National Ballet)  
  Fanny Cerrito   Irina Dvorovenko (American Ballet Theatre)  
  Marie Taglioni   Yekaterina Kondaurova (Mariinsky Ballet)  
  “Electricity”   Kiril Kulish  
  Choreography: Peter Darling   (“Billy Elliot: The Musical”)  
  Music: Elton John      
  Lyrics: Lee Hall      
  “The Man I Love” from “Who Cares”   Jenifer Ringer (New York City Ballet)  
  Choreography: George Balanchine   Jared Angle (New York City Ballet)  
  Music: George Gershwin      
  The George Balanchine Trust      
  “Embraceable You” from “Who Cares”   Maria Kowroski,  
  Choreography: George Balanchine   Philip Neal (New York City Ballet)  
  Music: George Gershwin      
  The George Balanchine Trust      
  “Good Times, Ha! – WORLD PREMIERE   Karine Plantadit (Broadway performer)  
  Choreography: Camille A. Brown   Danny Tidwell  
  Music: The New York Allstars      
  “Romeo and Juliet” Balcony Pas de Deux   Hee Seo  
  Choreography: Kenneth MacMillan   Cory Stearns (American Ballet Theatre)  
  Music: Sergei Prokofiev      
  “Percussion 4”   Marcelo Gomes (American Ballet Theatre)  
  Choreography: Bob Fosse      
  Music: Gordon Harrell      
  “Le Corsaire” Suite   Victoria Tereshkina,  
  Choreography: Marius Petipa   Vladimir Shklyarov (Mariinsky Ballet)  
  Music: Richard Drigo   Sarah Lane (American Ballet Theatre),  
      Zachary Catazaro (New York City Ballet)