YAGP 15th Anniversary “Stars of Today Meet the Stars of Tomorrow” Gala
Thursday Evening, April 10, 2014, at 7:00
Hosted by Hilaria Baldwin


Hailed by the late Clive Barnes of the New York Post as “the highlight of the New York ballet season,” YAGP’s “Stars of Today Meet the Stars of Tomorrow” Gala should not be missed by any ballet fan. The Gala features performances by leading dancers from the most prominent companies (Stars of Today- many of whom are YAGP alumni), alongside YAGP finalists (Stars of Tomorrow). This year, YAGP will feature a world premiere by Derek Hough, Emmy Award-winning choreographer of Dancing With the Stars and ABT’s Gemma Bond, with an original score by composer Karen LeFrak and costumes by Ralph Rucci. Don’t miss this spectacular evening of dance!



  Entries will be announced during the performance.   The winners of Youth America Grand Prix 2014  
      International Student Ballet Scholarship Competition  
  In G Major   Sara Mearns* and Tyler Angle (New York City Ballet)  
  (A special performance celebrating YAGP alumni)   Accompaniment by David Aladashvili (Piano)  
  Choreography: Jerome Robbins      
  Music: Maurice Ravel      
  Performed by permission of The Robbins Rights Trust.      
  Grand Defilé   YAGP 2014 Finalists  
  Choreography: Carlos dos Santos, Jr.      
  Rehearsal Directors: Alexei Moskalenko and Mikhail Tchoupakov      
  Music: Peter Tchaikovsky      
  The Grand Defilé is a specially choreographed piece d’occasion for over 250 YAGP participants from 30 countries and throughout the United States.      
  There will be a very brief intermission between acts.      
  Pas de Duke – Excerpt   Alicia Graf Mack (Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater)  
  Choreography: Alvin Ailey   and Daniil Simkin (American Ballet Theatre)  
  Music: Duke Ellington      
  Staged by: Chaya Masazumi      
  Costumes: Rouben Ter-Arutunian      
  Lighting: Chenault Spence      
  Music used with the permission of G. Schirmer Inc.      
  Being Natasha – WORLD PREMIERE   Skylar Brandt*  
  Choreography: Gemma Bond   Sarah Lane*  
  Music: Karen LeFrak   Lauren Post*  
  Costume Design: Ralph Rucci   Katherine Williams*  
  Projection Design: Ralph Rucci   Calvin Royal III*  
      Cory Stearns*  
      and Gabe Stone Shayer*  
      (American Ballet Theatre)  
      Accompaniment by Eileen Moon (Cello)  
      and Theodore Primis (Horn)  
  Pas de Deux from Onegin   Olga Smirnova (Bolshoi Ballet)  
  Choreography: John Cranko   and Evan McKie – NEW YORK DEBUT  
  Music: Kurt-Heinz Stolze after Peter Tchaikovsky   (Stuttgart Ballet / National Ballet of Canada)  
  Staged by: Georgette Tsinguirides and Reid Anderson      
  Solo from Manfred   Mathias Heymann* (Paris Opera Ballet)  
  Choreography: Rudolph Nureyev      
  Music: Peter Tchaikovsky      
  Ameska – WORLD PREMIERE   Misty Copeland (American Ballet Theatre)  
  Choreography: Derek Hough   with Paul Barris  
  Music: Ameska   Alexander Demkin  
  Costumes: Vesa Designs   and Roman Kutskyy (Ballroom Guest Artists)  
  Projection Design: José Parla      
  White Swan Pas de Deux from Swan Lake   Lucia Lacarra and Marlon Dino  
  Choreography: Marius Petipa   (Bavarian State Ballet)  
  Music: Peter Tchaikovsky      
  Millenium Skiva   Nicole Loizides and Steven Ezra* (MOMIX)  
  Choreography: Moses Pendleton      
  Music: Brainbug      
  Costumes: Phoebe Katzin      
  Lighting: Joshua Starbuck      
  Pas de Deux from Don Quixote   Iana Salenko (Berlin State Ballet)  
  Choreography: Marius Petipa   with Joseph Gatti* (Principal Guest Artist)  
  Music: Ludwig Minkus      
* indicates YAGP alumni